11 replies to this topic

Wes

Wes

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

POPULAR

Hi all,

I purchased my first MX5, an NC, in May and have been very much enjoying it so far!

However when I had the car lifted last month to change oils I noticed the underbody was quite rusty. I'm fairly new to this game so would very much appreciate advice on how best to treat rust / protect the car? 

Is this something I can do myself? Or if it is best done my a garage does anyone have any recommendations?

Many thanks

• Ali5 likes this

Dewi RS

Dewi RS

Advanced Member

• Premium Member
  • 12305 posts
  • LocationAlways in the doghouse

Current mood: Pensive

POPULAR

Yep, Mazda aren't known for their adequate rustroofing of cars during manufacture, they've always been bad for rot and they're still all the same even now.  Last year my lad told me he was off to look at an 18 month old Mazda CX something or other at a Honda dealership.  I was going off on my hols so couldnt go with him but I told him to look underneath it and he may get a shock, he kind of told me i was an idiot - "it's an 18 month old car for gawd's sake" he said . I just said "ok".

A few days into our hols I got a text on my phone, " You weren't jokiing were you? "  He'd taken my advice and looked underneath it, and as predicted he was shocked at the state of it for such a young car. He ended up buying a Honda CRV that was twice the age with half the rust  :giggle:

I've had 2 NCs - both bought under 2 years old and both with quite a lot of rust underneath requiring wire brushing and treating. My last one was a '94 Eunos - a fresh Japanese import (the Japs don't put salt on their roads during the winter months) which is the only way you'll find an older MX5 without any rust.