Mazda MX5 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Spending the kid's inheritance .............
42,578 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Our son has had his 2014 Mazda 2 from new, always serviced and MOT'd by our very good and usually competitive local Mazda Dealer.
This year a 9 year service to Mazda Schedule including MOT is quoted at £360, much higher than previous years services
and much higher than KwikFit, Halfords, Autolube, etc.

His mileage is only 36,000, is there anything special about the 9 year service to warrant the price hike which could be omitted ?

Any comments on comparative dealer servicing costs would be appreciated.

Attachments

· Advanced Member
2005 Arctic 1.8 ltr
17,328 Posts
Being an ex motor mechanic I'm fussy who I let touch my cars so when our local Mazda main dealer packed up some years ago and the garage was taken over by Perrys I decided to go to our local small garage and I took my new car in to have a small warranty job done , when I picked the car up and got home I went over it with a fine tooth comb and it was perfect so from that day on I have always used him as he is authorised to service new cars and do warranty work, I've used him now for ten years so I know him quite well and he does small jobs for free. My last service was £300 , that was £100 labour + MoT+ £60 for a calipur and some other exras and nearly £50 VaT.
I know prices are a bit cheaper here up North but it gives you an idea.

· Premium Member
10,755 Posts
As you rightly say Nick that sounds a bit high....Mazda only list until year 8 service, but the 2 is a chain driven engine, so nothing over and above normal servicing I shouldn't think....Just for comparison Annes CX-3 £289 to service (45,000) and the ND was £239 (22,000 on clock) at our usual Southport dealers.
As a comparison to Mazda my mates garage charged £190 to service my daughters CX3 AWD.

· Having fun topdown in my MX5
11,732 Posts